User Rating: 5 / 5

It’s hard to ignore what is happening in our world today. The Covid-19 pandemic and the Black Lives Matter movement have raised awareness to major problems in our society. In the past few months, I’ve found myself feeling somewhat helpless. My family has been quarantining somewhat strictly, and so, since I couldn’t physically help in the immediate future (besides donating), I decided to compile a list of Black Owned Food Establishments to Support in Minnesota.

Two hands of a mixed black womxn (wearing three simple silver rings) hold a burger with bacon, lettuce and tomato on a multigrain sesame seed bun. Accompanied by a white background.

Little did I know, my post was about to blow up on Instagram. At least it blew up by my standards. I knew that there had already been lists that went out made by some much larger publications. However, what I found was lacking, was that the lists seemed to primarily focus on Minneapolis and St Paul.  I knew there were WAY more establishments out there, so I made it my mission to compile all of the Black Owned Food Establishments (BOFE) in Minnesota. I researched for several days, but with the damage the riots caused in Minneapolis, I wanted to get my list out to the world, so people could start supporting these businesses ASAP.

 

The post went Minnesota viral for about two weeks straight. I was getting great feedback from the BOFE owners and people who, like me, lived outside of the city and wanted a more comprehensive list. However, like any human would, I missed some restaurants. Even through my extensive research on the internet, there were small businesses that fell through the cracks. I discovered there were even a few folks that ran their businesses from their homes.

 

With #BlackOutDay2020 happening today, July 7th, I figured now was a good time to post my new, updated list.  With this post I am going to include all the restaurants in my original post PLUS all of the wonderful additions that I sifted through in the comments. For those of you that aren’t familiar, #BlackOutDay2020 is a day to halt any and all of your regular purchases and to instead, if you choose to still spend money, put that money towards a Black Owned Business. However, you do not have to be Black to support! Many POC and white allies are standing in solidarity on this day.

I ask that, whatever your situation, give these businesses I have compiled some LOVE. Whether that means, going in person, ordering take-out/delivery or simply saving my post until you feel comfortable to do so!

 

Feel free to subscribe to my blog (in the left sidebar) to have this list emailed directly to you & to be updated when I find more BOFEs to support!

**click the name of the restaurant to be directly taken to their website**

 

Black Owned Food Establishments to Support in Minnesota:

 

Desserts, Coffee Shops & Snacks

Mojo Monkey Donuts (St Paul) - @mojomonkeydonuts

Golden Thyme (St Paul) - @goldenthymeonselby

PJ Murphy’s Bakery – (St Paul) @pjmurphysbakerymn

Cheesecake Funk (Mpls) - @cheesecakefunk 

B’beri Desserts – (Coon Rapids) @bberidesserts

Daughters and Sons Bakery (Prior Lake) - @dandsbakery

The King of Creams (Duluth) - @thekingofcreams

Gus Dean Coffee (Eagan) - @gusdeancoffee

2 Scoops Ice Cream Eatery (St Paul) - @2scoops.icecream

Uptown Hub Nutrition Club (Uptown Mpls) -@uptownhubnutritionclub

The Perfect Piece Sweets Co. (Mpls/St Paul)- @sweetstheperfectpiece

Duck Donuts (Woodbury) - @duckdonuts

Blissful Cakery (Mpls) - @blissfulcakery

Original Popcorn House MOA (Bloomington) - @origonalpopcornhousemoa

The Dripping Root (Coming to Mpls 2020) - @thedrippingroot  

Misc. Restaurants

Trio Plant-based (Mpls, Vegan) - @trioplantbased

Thigh Times Birdhouse (N. Mpls) - @thightimesbirdhouse

Pimento Jamaican Kitchen (S. Mpls/St Paul) - @pimentokitchen

Handsome Hog (St Paul) - @handsome_hog

Dragon Wok (Mpls) - @dragonwokmpls

Tommie’s Pizza (St Paul) - @tommiespizza

Brasa Rotisserie (Mpls) - @brasa_rotisserie

Taste of Rondo (St Paul)- @tasteofrondo 

Park Tavern (St Louis Park) - @parktavernslp

KREWE (St Joseph) - @krewerestaurant 

 

Cafes

Sammy’s Avenue Eatery (Mpls) - @aveeatery

Breaking Bread Café & Catering (Mpls) - @breakingbreadmn

Capitol Café and Catering (Mpls) - @capitol_cafe

Café Alma (SE Mpls) - @almampls_cafe  

 

Soul Food/Comfort Food

Mama Sheila’s House of Soul (Mpls) - @mamasheilassoulfood

Wendy’s House of Soul (Mpls) - @youvebeensouled

Soul Bowl (Mpls) - @soulbowlmn

B.A.D. Wingz (from Soul Bowl) - @b.a.d.wingz (coming soon!)

Breakfast Bar (Mpls) - @breakfastbarofmn

Angelea’s Soul Food (Brooklyn Park) - @angeleassoulfood 

 

African/Ethiopian

Afro Deli (Mpls/St Paul) - @afrodeli

Mama Ti's (Brooklyn Park)

Toni’s African Deli (Crystal) - @toniaafricandelimn

Safari Restaurant (S. Mpls) - @safarirestaurantminneapolis

Fasika Ethionpian (St Paul) - @fasikaethiopianrestaurant

Meseret Ethiopian (Mpls) - @meseret_ethiopian_resturant

Bole Ethiopian Cuisine (St Paul) - @bole_mn

 

Wine/Beer/Spirits

Du Nord Craft Spirits (Mpls) - @dunordcs

One Fermentary & Taproom (Mpls) - @one_mpls (CLOSED, check website for details)

Cobble Social House (Mpls) - @cobblempls

Milton’s Vittles, Vino & Beer (Crystal) - @miltonsfamily

The Fitz (St Paul) - @thefitzstpaul

Palmers Bar (Mpls)  - @palmersbar

 

Clubs/Lounges

Gold Room Restaurant & Lounge (DT Mpls) - @goldroommn

Monarch (N. Mpls) - @monarchmpls 

An image of dry rubbed, barbecue ribs. Labeled with local MN Black Owned restaurant recommendations, Smoke in the Pit, C & G's and Beast Barbeque.

BBQ

Smoke in the Pit (Mpls) - @smokeinthe

C & G's Smoking Barbecue (Mpls)

Beast Barbecue (Mpls) - @beastbarbecue

 

Food Trucks/Farmer's Markets

Wholesoul (Food Truck) - @wholesoul_mn

Nashville Coop (Food Truck) - @nashvillecoop

The Donut Trap (Food Truck) - @thedonuttrap

Jersey Jo’s (Rochester, Shop/Food Truck) - @jersey_joe_jo

Quince Market (Annex-Mpls Mkt) - @quincemplsmkt (return date TBA)

Shega Foods (Mpls, Grocery Store) - @shegafoods 

 

Catering/Pop-Ups

House of Gristle (St Paul, Pop-Up/Catering) - @houseofgristle

Chopped n’ Served (Catering) - @choppednserved 

El Norte (Twin Cities Pop-Up Restaurant) - @elnortekitchen

Livfresh (Meal Prep) - @livfreshprep

Stop, Drop & Rolls (Mpls, Catering) - @stopdropn_roll 

Casa Kith (Mpls, Pop-Up) - @casa_kith

Wallace Cuisine (Catering) - @chefwallace.mw

Roots for the Soul (Personal Chef) - @rootsforthesoul

Chef Jeff (Catering) - @chefjeffmpls

  

***if you are the owner of one of these establishments and you would like info updated, please reach out via the contact tab***

 

happy eating!

Lauren

Add comment


Security code
Refresh